Niña Coyote and Chico Tornado take the Etxepare Award for Best Album in Basque at the MIN Awards

Euskara. Kultura. Mundura.


Last Friday the MIN Independent Music Awards ceremony was broadcast for the first time on television and included live performances from different venues. This year, the winner of the Etxepare Award for Best Album in Basque was Niña Coyote eta Chico Tornado for their album Aitzstar. This is the second time the band has walked away with the award. 

Aitzstar (2019) is the third LP by the Donostia rock duo Niña Coyote eta Chico Tornado. The 11-track album continues down the heavy rock path tweaked by new innovations. Among the other groups competing for the award for best album in Basque were Zea Mays, Doctor Deseo, Zetak, and Maite Larburu. 

Organized in 2009 by the Spanish independent record union (UFI), the MIN Awards recognize the creation, diversity and artistic quality of independent productions published in Spain. Each year they promote, at the state and international level, music released by independent labels as well as self-produced work. 

Since 2014, Etxepare Basque Institute has been sponsoring the Award for Best Album in the Basque Language to raise the profile of music created in the Basque language Spain-wide. In previous years Berri Txarrak, Jabier Muguruza, Niña Coyote eta Chico Tornado, Delorean and Ruper Ordorika have won this award. 

Sign up for our Newsletter.