Basque filmmakers win eight Goyas

Euskara. Kultura. Mundura.


Following the trend of recent years, Basque cinema has received numerous honours at the Goya Awards, Spain´s main national annual film awards. The Spanish Academy of Cinematographic Arts and Sciences gave eight awards to the films ´Ane´ and ´Akelarre´, the latter clinching the most wins at the 35th Goya Awards. Pablo Agüero´s film received five Goyas: Best Special Effects, Best Make-up and Hairstyling, Best Costumes, Best Original Score, and Best Art Direction. ´Ane´ received three Goyas, with Best Leading Actress going to Patricia Lopez Arnaiz and Best New Actress to Jone Laspiur. The film, directed by David Pérez Sañudo, also won the Goya for the Best Adapted screenplay.

The two top winners were both shot in Basque. And this is the first time a Goya for Best Actress has gone to the star of a movie filmed in the Basque language.

The event was celebrated this past weekend in Malaga, Spain, with protective measures such as social distancing in place. The 35th edition of the Goya Awards was hosted by actor Antonio Banderas and television host María Casado.

Among the winners for the film ´Akelarre´ are: Mikel Serrano, for the Best Artistic Direction; Nerea Torrijos, for Best Costume Design; Beatushka Wojtowick and Ricardo Molina for Best Make-up and Hairdressing; and Mariano García Marty and Ana Rubio for the Best Special Effects.

As for ´Ane´, Patricia López Arnaiz won Best Actress, Jone Laspiur took Best New Actress, and the third award went to director David Pérez Sañudo and Marina Pares for Best Adapted Screenplay.

Several Basque productions also received nominations but did not ultimately walk away with any awards. Juanma Bajo Ulloa was nominated Best Director for ´Baby´; Koldo Uriarte and Bingen Mendizabal, for Best Original Music, also for ´Baby´; ‘They are Just Fish’ by ​​Ana Serna and Paula Iglesias were nominated for Best Documentary Short Film, and ‘Homeless Home’ by Alberto Vázquez was nominated Best Animated Short Film.

Sign up for our Newsletter.