Basque performing arts triumph once again at the Max Awards

Euskara. Kultura. Mundura.


The number of nominees for the Max Awards this year came to nearly 50. A total of 14 companies and 31 artists were nominated in various categories. The winners of the 24th edition of the Max Awards for the Performing Arts held at Bilbao´s Teatro Arriaga were: Alfredo Sanzol for his production for Spain’s National Drama Centre  (Centro Dramático Nacional, CDN), the Deabru Beltzak street theatre group, Iratxe Ansa, and the Basque musical ´Kutsidazu bidea, Ixabel´, by the Demode Produzkioak.

The ceremony was hosted by the Arriaga Theatre´s artistic director, Calixto Bieito. The award for the Best Street Show went to ´Symfeuny´ by Deabru Beltzak; Iratxe Ansa took the award for Best Female Dance Performer for ´Al desnudo´; and ´Kutsidazu Bidea Ixabel, Musikala´ by Demode Produkzioak won the Best Musical or Lyrical Show.

The Max Aficionado or Social Character Award this year went to Teatro Estudio de San Sebastián and was collected by Manolo Gómez. In addition, the award for Best Theatre Show and Best Theatrical Authorship went to ´El bar que se tragó a todos los españoles´ (‘The bar that swallowed up all Spaniards), by the Navarrese playwright and director Alfredo Sanzol for the Centro Dramático Nacional.

The Max Awards for the Performing Arts were created by SGAE (Sociedad General de Autores y Editores) to acknowledge and reward the work of professionals and the quality of the year’s most outstanding productions in Performing Arts.

Sign up for our Newsletter.