Euskara. Kultura. Mundura.

The Aquitaine-Euskadi Eurorregion – initially comprised of the Basque Government and the Aquitaine region – Etxepare Basque Institute and Euskal Kultur Erakundea-Institut Culturel Basque signed a collaboration agreement in 2016.  

Under this agreement the signatory institutions pledged to work together on two fronts: first, by including work by Basque artists from different disciplines on both sides of the border in festivals and events in Aquitaine, and second, by promoting relationships and cross-border cooperation between artists and agents in Aquitaine and Euskadi.

In addition, the geographic scope of the Euroregion has doubled since 2017. This is due to the new administrative regions that went into effect in France in 2016, creating Nouvelle-Aquitaine, which includes the regions of Charentes and Limousin. And Navarra has now been incorporated into the Euroregion. Thus, the Government of Navarre’s cultural institute, Príncipe de Viana, has now joined the project.

Today, the Nouvelle Aquitaine-Euskadi- Navarre Eurorregion includes 8.7 million people and a geographic area of nearly 100,000 square kilometres. 

Sign up for our Newsletter.